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Date of State Budget Office Approval:

Date Requested: Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Date Due: Saturday, February 15, 2020
Impact on Expenditures Impact on Revenues
FY 2020 N/A FY 2020 $0
FY 2021 See Below FY 2021 $0
FY 2022 See Below FY 2022 $0

Explanation by State
Budget Office:

Comments on
Sources of Funds:

Summary of Facts
and Assumptions:

This act would increase the state medical assistance payments made to nursing
homes to cover any increased costs resulting from a mandatory increase in the
minimum hourly wage for employees. The act would take effect upon passage.

Medicaid expenditures are jointly financed by general revenues and federal funds
according to the prevailing (blended) Federal Medical Assistance Percentage
(FMAP), which is 52.86 percent and 53.81 percent in FY 2020 and FY 2021,
respectively. The FY 2022 (blended) FMAP is assumed as equivalent to the final
FFY 2021 rate, or 53.81 percent.

It is assumed that this bill will take effect as of July 1, 2020. Therefore, no fiscal
impact in FY 2020 is reported.

The proposed legislation amends Section 40-8-19 of the Rhode Island General Laws
for Rates of payment to nursing facilities. Currently, the State Medicaid program
reimburses facilities and other long-term care providers through "principles of
reimbursement” based on a price-based methodology that recognizes the acuity of
patients and the relative Medicaid occupancy. Elements included in this methodology
are a direct-care rate adjusted for resident acuity, an indirect care rate comprised of a
base per diem for all facilities, a rearray of costs for all facilities every three years
beginning October 2015 that may or may not result in automatic per diem revisions,
application of fair-rental-value system, application of pass-through system, and
adjustment of rates by the change in a recognized national nursing home index
applied on October 1st of each year.

Direct-care workers include registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, certified
nursing assistants, certified medical technicians, housekeeping staff, laundry staff,
dietary staff, or other similar type employees providing direct-care services. It does
not include RNs and LPNs who are classified as "exempt employees" under the
Federal Fair Labor Standards Act or CNAs, certified medical technicians, RNs or
LPNs who are contracted or subcontracted through a third-party vendor or staffing
agency.

Minimum wage in Rhode Island is currently $10.50 and is governed by Section 28-
12-3 of the Rhode Island General Laws. Average annual increases in the Rhode
Island minimum wage has been 6% since January 2013. The last increase occurred
on January 1, 2019 where the minimum wage was increased by $0.40 cents or a 4.0%
increase. As of January 1, 2020, Rhode Island has the 14th highest minimum wage in
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the country.

There is no scheduled increase to the minimum wage in current law. The Governor's
FY 2021 recommended budget proposes increasing the minimum wage from $10.50
per hour to $11.50 per hour effective October 1, 2020.

Based on publicly available information, there are 81 nursing facilities in Rhode
Island. According to the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training (DLT), as
0f 2016, 18,352 people were employed within nursing and residential care facilities
in Rhode Island making an average annual salary of $31,664. Assuming a 40-hour
work week, this translates to a rate of $15.22 an hour.

DLT estimates a range of 25,000 to 30,000 labor force participants are currently
earning minimum wage and calculates that as of December 2019, there are 506,300
non-farm employment positions in Rhode Island. This would equate to 5.9% of these
position make minimum wage (30,000/506,300=5.9%). It is likely that a higher
percent of total nursing and residential home care workers make minimum wage than
5.9% as the average entry wage for these positions is $11.01. For purposes of
illustrating the fiscal impact of the bill if passed, the Budget Office uses the 5.9%
overall estimate when calculating the number of nursing and residential home care
facility workers making minimum wage. Using that same assumption, 5.9% of those
employed in nursing and residential home care facilities equals 1,087 workers
making minimum wage (18,352*5.9%=1,087) within this field. Minimum wage of
$10.50 equates to an annual salary of $21,840 assuming a 40-hour work week. Using
the Governor's FY 2021 budget proposal to increase the minimum wage to $11.50
per hour ($23,920 annually assuming a 40-hour work week) as the assumed next
increase, this would increase wages by $2,080 annually per nursing and residential
home care facility worker making minimum wage. Assuming this increase affects
1,087 workers, the total estimated increase in pay that these facilities would be
responsible for would be $2,261,831 (1,087%2,080=$2,261,831) at a minimurm.
Under this bill and using the FY 2021 FMAP, general revenue would cover
$1,044,740 of the total while federal Medicaid would cover $1,217,091.

This estimate does not take into account how an increase in the minimum wage
would affect how facilities may also need to increase the hourly wages of other
workers who are paid above minimum wage in order to maintain certain pay
differentials. The State is not provided actual or real-time data on the compensation
of direct-care workers by nursing facilities and thus the fiscal impact from additional
pay increases cannot be determined.

The bill makes no mention of how the State would track the number of direct-care
workers making minimum wage nor how the effect of the increase would be reported
to the State in order to be reimbursed.

Lastly, note that amending the language in 40-8-19(c) conflicts with the existing
language under subsection (a) related to "Rate reform" since the former cost-based
reimbursement methodology was replaced with the currently used price-based acuity
adjusted method in FY 2012. The new language would require a cost-based
reimbursement mechanism to be in place to calculate the effect of minimum wage on
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employee wages working at nursing facilities.
Summary of Fiscal The State Budget Office estimates that a $1.00 increase in the minimum wage would,
Impact: at a minimum, increase the pay that nursing and residential care facilities would be

responsible by $2,261,831. Using the FY 2021 FMAP, general revenue would
finance $1,044,740 of the total, while federal Medicaid would finance $1,217,091.

The State is currently required to adjust direct care rates paid to nursing facilities for
Medicaid eligible residents by a recognized national nursing home inflation index
applied on October 1 of each year. It is unclear in the bill whether or not this increase
would incorporate the minimum wage increase or if the minimum wage increase
would be provided in addition.

The State is not provided actual or real-time data on the compensation of direct-care
workers by nursing facilities and thus the fiscal impact of offsetting any mandated
minimum wage increase cannot be fully determined. This would also prevent any
determination on the number of direct-care workers making minimum wage who
would be directly affected by this bill or how this may also affect workers at higher

pay levels of the organization and their hourly rates. —
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